Knitty Titties

Standard

I had a mastectomy last month.  Now I have to figure out a way to appear balanced and normal when I go out in public. I have “coconut” bras, the kind with the molded cups, and my doctor suggested a light fluff of gauze bandages would be appropriate at this stage, since my incision is still healing.

Once my treatment is finished, I plan to have reconstruction.

Mom today said that she and my sister Cher are going to the craft store tomorrow. They’re going to get the yarn and my SIL Ruth is going to knit me some boobies (see the site referenced in my “links” list).

Mom said, “you’re not actually going to wear them, are you?”

I said, “Of course. There’s no point in buying an expensive plastiboob (prosthetic breast), since I’m planning reconstruction anyway. I haven’t seen them for less than $50 each.”

Mom said, “OK then. After you don’t need them, you can hang them from your car mirror.”

I would totally do that.

Leave a Reply

