I want to get off the carousel

Standard

I’m having a “stop the world, I want to get off” day.

On Friday, I got a $200 parking ticket at the university because apparently my handicapped parking permit had expired. That’s lovely! Let’s give all our cancer patients $200 parking tickets! What a great way to support faculty members who continue to teach through cancer treatment.

This morning, Eddie Bauer’s collections folks called me. Yes, I got a collections call at 9:30 on a Sunday morning. They want me to pay them $100 in late fees and charges. I paid for the merchandise long ago. Now they just want to extort more money from me. Another great American chain store shows its true colors and extorts unearned cash from people who can least afford it.

From their website: “Headquarters: Eddie Bauer is headquartered in Bellevue, Washington. The company also operates a distribution and fulfillment center in Groveport, Ohio; an IT facility in Westmont, Illinois; a distribution center in Vaughan, Ontario, Canada; and call centers in Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada and Groveport, OH.”

Maybe I should pay their headquarters a visit. It’s only a few hours’ drive from here.

It feels good to vent, but I have a lot of work to do today, to prepare for classes this week. Next week (March 10-14) is spring break, and I start my chemo on March 11.

About Wild Rose

I’m known as Wild Rose, and I was diagnosed with breast cancer on January 8, 2008. I had no insurance, and my income, which wasn’t large anyway, had just been cut by 2/3. This is my story, my thoughts, and the ideas that I dream up or find elsewhere. I hope that other patients and survivors find solace here.

One response »

  1. I could go torment them for you…Grove Port isn’t that far from here, and I do happen to know exactly where that distribution center mentioned above is located. *wicked laugh*

Leave a Reply

