Chemo Totes

Standard

An idea that I found on BCO (breastcancer.org) is the idea of “chemo totes.”  You may not know this, but I have my own business called “Water Lily Naturals” (see the links box) where I sell handmade lotions and things, all natural, no chemicals. I’ve been using my own lotions since my mastectomy and other surgeries and they are so gentle on my tired, cut up, healing skin…So I’m thinking I’ll put together “chemo totes” including my lotions and some other things that would be nice for women — and men, too – to have, who are undergoing chemo. I can give them a test run myself, as I start chemo next week (3/11). These would be available at cost + postage. If you would like to donate things to go into the kits, please send me a comment. I think these will make nice gifts if someone you know is undergoing chemo, or for yourself, if you are.

I can’t put in OTC medications, but I can put in a lot of other helpful stuff. Here is a list I’ve complied based on what I’ve read on BCO. Please “comment” to suggest other things that can go in the kits.

  • Unscented lotion (I can scent them if you’d like)
  • Unscented moisturizer (I can also scent this if you’d like)
  • Manicure kit
  • Crochet hat or bandanna or scarf
  • Plastic silverware
  • Pack of tissues
  • Bath salts (scented or unscented)
  • Soft toothbrush
  • Relaxation CD (I will create one just for this!)
  • Inspirational note

You may be wondering why I don’t just offer these for free. I would love to, but financially, I can’t do it.

Another update: my BFF Randi has offered to help with the Chemo Totes. She has a sewing machine and can handcraft the tote bags. I had my first chemo session on Tuesday and now we have a better understanding of how big the bag should be: you need to be able to fit books, magazines and craft supplies, along with your wallet, cell phone, a little notepad, places to put pens and other necessities. It would be good to have pockets for the smaller items, so you don’t have to dig around looking for them.

If anyone has a supply of little things they would like to donate for these bags — here I’m thinking pens and note pads, things like that — please contact me. The more things we can get donated, the lower the cost of the bags will be.

Tell me what you think!

2 responses »

  1. I know this sounds weird, but pictures of cats, or little stuffed-animal kitties…I have a condition called Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, aka Complex Regional Pain Syndrome, and while not life-threatening, it is extremely painful and sanity-threatening, and at any rate, I was having a really bad pain day recently, and one of our kitties knew it, and just seeing Anti-Depressant Alf cheered me up. Cats having an amazing healing effect on a lot of folks…I would be willing to gather kitty cards, photos, or even try to locate small plushie-type kitties, if you decide to use this idea.

    Melissa

Leave a Reply

