Survived my third treatment with A/C

Standard

That’s the news of the week: My allergic reaction to the adriamycin did not worsen. The doc has me on prednisone and benadryl; apparently, they’re working. I’m having some trouble breathing today but that’s my usual Thursday routine. Tomorrow I’ll be really tired (so I tidied up a bit today) and next week the bone pain from the neulasta shot will kick in and my bone marrow will be busily making white blood cells. It feels like my marrow is using jackhammers sometimes, it hurts so bad.

I only have one more treatment with this combo, on April 22. Then I start taxol on May 6. Almost half way done!

I have a job interview out-of-state at the end of the month. They wanted to bring me out on (you guessed it) April 22, but I pleaded “medical procedure” and we rescheduled for the 28th through 30th. Keep your fingers crossed and starred! I think I would love this job!

I was feeling well enough last weekend to do some art. I haven’t done anything creative in a long time, certainly since my diagnosis, so I’m feeling good about that. One piece was an Artist Trading Card that I made for my friend who has a Sphinx cat. It was surreal but he loved it.

The second was 11″ x 14″ and I matted and framed it. It’s a wedding gift for a friend in North Carolina. It’s called Presence Defies Solitude. Forgive the copyright; you know how some people like to snag things and use them without permission.

Presence Defies Solitude Original Art

This chemo session made me two-tired

About Wild Rose

I’m known as Wild Rose, and I was diagnosed with breast cancer on January 8, 2008. I had no insurance, and my income, which wasn’t large anyway, had just been cut by 2/3. This is my story, my thoughts, and the ideas that I dream up or find elsewhere. I hope that other patients and survivors find solace here.

7 responses »

  1. Fabulous picture, Rose! You’re very talented!

    And I’m very pleased the drugs combination hasn’t had any worsening effects!

  2. Thanks, Norm! And thanks for posting. (((hugs))). It scares people when I say I’m a surrealist because they think of floppy watches and such.

  3. I found your blog when I was looking for totebag ideas…discovered you were a breast cancer survivor too….my deinition of “Survivor” is when we accept treatmetn. I also did 4 rounds of A/C and just finished 12 rounds of Taxol. Keep up your wonderful spirit…you will survive this…my thougts are with your. Judy

  4. Thanks, Judy, and thanks for posting. Twelve rounds of Taxol! OMG! Did you have the leg pain? Mine started yesterday and it’s awful.

Leave a Reply

